About Us

Khomas Regional Council is the regional government of Khomas Region. The Council was established under the Regional Act, Act No. 22 of 1992; Khomas Region is located in the central area of Namibia, and is bordered by Erongo Region to the west and northwest, Otjozondjupa Region to the north, Omaheke Region to the east, and Hardap Region to the south. The region accounts for 4.5% of the total land area of Namibia and private individuals and companies on freehold land control the majority (94.2%) of the region. The rest of the land is allocated to local authorities. The name of the region: Khomas, reflects the prominence of the Khomas Hochland mountain range near Windhoek.

The region houses Windhoek, the capital of Namibia. Windhoek is house to all national headquarters of state agencies, and is also the seat of the regional government: the Khomas Regional Council. The capital forms the administrative, legislative and judicial centre of the country, with a population representing over 13% of the total population. It is also the most important business, educational/cultural and transport (rail, road, air) centre of Namibia.

Most of Namibia's supply (manufacturing) industries are based there, although it cannot be considered as a fully-fledged industrial centre. The majority of the Windhoek population are regular salary earners, predominantly in the service industry. As the capital and the most important metropolitan area in the country, it has become attractive to rural dwellers seeking work opportunities. The infrastructure of Khomas is well developed but it does not extend equally to all parts of the region, especially its Windhoek Rural Constituency area, which consists mainly of commercial farmland. The potential for further development of light industries and new settlement areas seem presently to be unlimited. There is a strong interaction between the farming community in the hinterland of Windhoek and the city. Not only are most of the farming products marketed in or through Windhoek but it is also the most important farming supply centre. The southern border of the Khomas Region includes the northern part of former Rehoboth Gebiet. It comprises an area which is also predominantly cattle-producing with similar agro-economic interests to the rest of the Region. It is a properly proclaimed farming area. To a large extent, the border line forms a natural division between the predominantly cattle producing central part of Namibia and the predominantly small stock farming area of southern Namibia.

The Region is comprised of ten (10) constituencies:

  1. John Alphons. Pandeni
  2. Moses !Garoeb
  3. Katatura Central
  4. Katutura East
  5. Khomasdal Constituency
  6. Windhoek East
  7. Windhoek West
  8. Windhoek Rural
  9. Tobias Hainyeko
  10. Samora Machel

Despite of being situated in the municipal boundaries, these constituencies are seen to have different characteristic (demographically, geographically, politically and economically. Download a Khomas Regional Development Profile of 2015 Click Here->>>

Constituencies in Khomas